Tags

, , , ,

hate

The title of this post was a reference to my former college roommate. He was a young white male almost like a clone of Dr. Sheldon Cooper, only kinder, with glasses and more humble, evidently was blinded by his whiteness. As such, whenever I, he and our two other roommates would watch something on television, and it showed black folks acting crazy like on a sitcom, he would turn to me and say, “You better do something about your people. Hee hee!”

Outside, I snickered, but inside, I was fuming. Each time he said it felt even more painful. I wanted to curse him out. I wanted to hit him. But I know if I did that, I would be in major trouble. So instead, I flipped the script while watching white folks and told him that he better do something about his people. He laughed, and said, “I’ll try.”

To this day, I wonder if he knew what I did. I doubt it, because I wonder if he knew what he was doing. But then again, that would assume that he was naive, not knowing what they’re doing. Still, part of me honestly reserves that judgment towards SOME white people unless proven wrong. (And I have proven wrong before.) But that still doesn’t mean they’re that much different than the ones who flaunt their white supremacy like a peacock. Racism is still painful whether it’s without thought or malice of forethought.

With that said, I thought the next edition of the “woe is us straight white Christian male’s” rally populated with angry-for-no-logical-reason-than-to-preserve-the legacy-of-their-overtly-racist- and-shameful-past-and-stand-up-to-any-and-all-groups-supposedly-out-to-oppress-us-according-to-racist-cowards-and-trolls white folks in Charlottesville, Va would be another loose gathering where they would show up, rant, rave and go home. But, it became a violent battle with one dead and several injured mostly due to one James Alex Fields plowing a car through a crowd.

The rally itself was enough to remind people that racism is not only a major issue, it’s also destructive when dealt with white people so furious they’re willing to kill to make a point. This is nothing new, and this is not to be confined to individual fuckups alone. It’s an entire matrix from political offices to corporations to schools to lone jackasses out to destroy those who aren’t or don’t submit to whiteness.

But when it shows, white people are quick to distance themselves from the madness. Yet, they turn around and quickly pressure the black community to do something about violent crime in the streets. They want to know why Muslims don’t say anything whenever an Islamic attack happens within white dominated nations. However, when violence and terrorism has a white face, white folks lose their shit when they’re confronted and questioned and try their best to disassociate themselves them their troubled kin and remind themselves that they are different, better and good. 

Some of us don’t care about being told how there are ‘good white people’ out there. Being good didn’t stop tragedies like this from happening. Being good didn’t end racism or at least put a dent in the machine. Being good didn’t stop so many atrocities in the name of white supremacy from happening. And being good didn’t prevent the living embodiment of white supremacy from getting elected, nor did it prevent white male thuggery from turning governing into a cheap-ass reality TV show.

So, white people, what are you going to do about this? What are you going to do about this atmosphere of hate, ignorance, fear and violence? One of your own died from this weekend’s nonsense. You better do something, or else more of your kind will continue to destroy YOUR society.

