Tags

, , , , , ,

If blue lives truly mattered, the police seem to be doing a poor job setting that example among themselves. It’s been said millions of times that there are good, descent cops out there. It’s usually used by supporters of the Black Lives Matter movement to explain that they’re not anti-police. Yet, it still falls on deaf ears. People still think the movement is anti-police and even anti-white.

But what happens when cops go after other cops and brutalize them as they would certain civilians, the black, brown and even poor white varieties? We know why black and brown folks are targeted so much. “We fit the description. We look suspicious.” But what if it happens to a cop for the same reasons?

Oh wait! It has.

A police officer, Robert Parker, in Temple Hills, Maryland was assaulted by another police officer, because he fitted the description of a shooting suspect. He’s a black male wearing a hoodie and blue jeans. Parker is also a black male wearing a hoodie and blue jeans. Case closed.

Fox 5 News reports:

Parker, who is assigned to Harbor Patrol as a diver, says he was thrown to the ground and punched in the head, even as he was identifying himself as an officer, obeying all commands.

“And I can’t remember if I said okay or was just kind of baffled at the moment, and he walked up to me and he started patting me down and I’m just thinking, is this really happening? Because I know the protocol because I’m a police officer,” Parker told FOX 5’s Paul Wagner. “He reaches around and feels my sidearm, my firearm and I look at him and I see the look in his eye and I say, ‘I’m the police.’ I’m literally slammed. I went to the ground I kept saying, ‘I’m the police, I’m the police.’ There were two other officers there. I felt their presence and they placed me in handcuffs, and then somebody hit me in the right side of my face.”

Parker says he wasn’t resisting and felt the take down and punch were totally unwarranted. He says he hates to pull the race card, but believes had he been white, the take down and what he views as excessive force would not have happened.

Gee, you think?

During the incident, Parker says he injured his wrist and went for treatment at the police and fire clinic as well as a hospital emergency room.

It should be noted that the officer in question is also a black male. But a cop is a cop, and black men are still subjected to police brutality even if some of them are cops themselves.

Naturally, the police department defended the officer, the one who physically assaulted Parker while Parker has to deal with his injuries.

It sucks to have this looming cloud of suspicion always with you, because of what you are. You’re a black male, and thus, you’re up to something no good. You’re guilty of something. You have to be. You ‘look’ suspicious. Society’s hangup with the criminal black male stereotype is out to get black men, even if they carry a badge.

