Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

News about the Bill Cosby scandal keeps going as yet another accuser came forward. And I’m sure, like most of you, I’m tired of hearing about it. I’m so tired, I didn’t even feel like finding a picture to illustrate this article. I’m tired not because I am a fan of Cosby, because I’m not. I’m tired of feeling embarrassed by skin and gender association.

After much consideration and thinking, I’ve decided to put a lid on discussing the Bill Cosby scandal. I think the media has treated it as nothing more than a pull to drive ratings as opposed to make society aware of the problem of rape culture which is a great disservice to actual victims of rape. After all, the mainstream continues to show how much it could care less about society’s issues only if it helps generate viewers and dollars.

Rape is a very serious topic that must be confronted and dealt with. As a man, I am aware that I live in a male dominated society where my genitals suggest, according to the unofficial rules of male supremacy, that I am superior to women and therefore I have the right and power to do with them what I want, when I want. Sexual abuse by men against women unfortunately comes with the territory, and even though I’ve never done it nor would I ever stoop to that level, it is sadly the norm in America. Real talk.

I’ve lost count as to how many women have accused Cosby of drugging and raping them. But the hits keep on coming. (Cindra Ladd, a white female philanthropist and wife of Oscar-winning producer and former MGM Chair Alan Ladd Jr, is the latest to accuse the comedian of raping her during the late 1960’s) And even though this is a serious matter, I still have enormous doubts as to the validity of some of the accusers. One, huge glaring wonder is that Cosby somehow managed to walk free after raping many white women, especially during the 60’s and 70’s. The history of this country suggests that if a black man so much has been accused of raping a white woman, his ass is grass. How can Cosby get away with it for so long? Does he have friends in high places? If so, even they are likely white guys who are as racist as their lesser income brethren. That would not sit well with them that a Negro of any standing raped their precious treasures. So, the question is, what was the deal?

There have been less popular articles that cast doubt on this whole mess. One was by a woman paid to destroy Cosby. Another explained how the agent of two models believed they were lying. That doesn’t let Cos off the hook, however. But that does leave a crack in this whole case.

I don’t know if Cosby is guilty or not. All we can go by is here say. But when over 30 women have made the same claim, something’s rotten in Denmark either way. But what is it? Where does the truth begin? Do we automatically believe or consider believing the women, which is what we should do more often? Or do we believe that something stinks about the whole thing, because something doesn’t add up? If so, is it reasonable, or is it a normal reflection based on how this country does black men with false rape accusations which I’ve learned are more common than we think?

I’m not saying this is the case, but it is something that can’t be overlooked. And when you have over 30 women, it may not be possible that this is merely a smear campaign. I’m just saying.

I admit that, like many other people, hearing about this scandal from any news outlet is painful. Deep inside, I hope and wish this isn’t true. However, I cannot forget that this is the same man who went on a tirade against poor black folks, poor black folks like yours truly, like conservatives who detest poverty as much as they hate common sense. Not to mention him omitting the major factor of race in every race-based situation and his command to not blame the white man.

Now, if Ole’ Bill is a pillar of morality as he portrayed himself to be as his character Heathcliff Huxtable from The Cosby Show, and truly did not rape all those women, then by definition, there’s a hidden “plot” to bring him down. However, if he did, then he is one muh’fuckin hypocrite who doesn’t deserve any support. Point blank. And the odds are heavily stacked against him, especially for him to tour the nation and make a lame ass joke about it.

But if this is a plan, the question is why are they trying to bring down Cosby? What could they hope to gain, especially since most of the women are in good economic standing? And if there is some kind of conspiracy, who’s involved and why? I’m just asking.

I’m just going to shut up and uncomfortably watch this unfold. Again, I’m not a fan of Cosby. I do admire his work – sort of – but I’m not a fan of the man. As a side note, have you ever noticed how all of his media products like Fat Albert, Little Bill and, of course, The Cosby Show are based upon himself?

This may be a case of trying to destroy a highly successful black person. But you must consider how women are viewed and treated whenever they accuse a any beloved man of rape.

