Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

WARNING: The following song is extremely racist and misogynistic. Viewer discretion is advised.

Last week, a music video surfaced that has gotten the social media buzzing, but not in a good way. The name of the song is “Asian Girlz” and it was performed by a band called Day Above Ground. From what we see and hear, most of the group consists of young white males.

I’ll be real with you all. When I clicked on the Youtube video to listen to the song, I couldn’t get past the 1:30 mark. When I read the lyrics, it made it even worse. I’ll post the lyrics up, but be warned, you may develop a craving for crack afterwards:

Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
Yes, my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl

Right off the bat, it doesn’t sound like love. It sounds like possession, like she – and Asian girl – belongs to whoever and that she doesn’t have freedom of her own. The stereotype of Asian women being submissive is hidden within these four lines alone.

I love your sticky rice
Butt fucking all night
Korean barbecue
Bitch I love you
I love your creamy yellow thighs
Ooh you’re slanted eyes
It’s the Year of the Dragon
Ninja pussy I’m stabbin’

I honestly don’t know what to say about this. This is filled to the brim of stereotypes and misogyny to say nothing of absolute cultural degradation and racial and sexual ridicule.

Superstitious feng shui shit (what)
Now lay your hair by the toilet
I’ve got your green tea boba
So put your head on my shoulder
Your momma’s so pretty
Best nails in the city
Pushing your daddy’s Mercedes

I wonder if these guys even know what feng shui is. I doubt it seeing as how they seem to think every Asian female has a “ninja pussy”, whatever that is. But here, the song lays hints of hitting on Asian mothers as well as their daughters and having an interest in their dad’s Mercedes because obviously all Asians are into some kind of business and are making money. And I won’t even touch that ‘toilet’ line.

New Year’s in February (February?)
That’s fine with me (I guess)
Yeah, shark soup (What? Fuck it, we’ll eat it)
Oh, tradition, tradition, tradition, yeah yeah
Baby, you’re my Asian girl
You’re legally (best kind)
So baby marry me
Come on sit on my lap (right here baby)
Or we’ll send you back
And you age so well
I can barely tell
17 or 23?
Baby doesn’t matter to me

These lines are tap dancing on the thin ice border of pedophilia that is starting to crack. And to add insult to injury, it’s suggesting that you submit by sitting on the man’s lap, or else they’re ‘sent back’ which sounds a lot like being deported back to their country.

Arcadia
J-Town
Alhambra
K-Town
Temple City
Don’t forget Chinatown
Get down
Happy endings all over
Bruce Lee
Toyota
Spicy tuny
Sashimi
Tasty Garden
Fried Lice
Sailor Moon
Wonton soup
Spring roll
Tibet
Foot rub rub a down down down
Fa ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra
Tofu
All over you all over me

First off, let’s all use these lines as an example that too much television is bad for you. Second, let’s also say that these are just a bunch of random words associated with Asian culture with more cultural stereotypes here to close the song which only buries it in the end. Third, let’s all just call this entire song for what it is, a lust song for creepy-ass, white males with a warped Asian fetish.

Okay, maybe I’ve given television too much credit at first. This fetish for Asian culture has existed before the advent of the media. But the media, in the hands of white males, have perpetuated that fetish for many years, especially with the white male fascination with Asian women. As expected, the assumption is that Asian women are more submissive, obedient (to the wishes of males) and exotic in an other-worldly sense.

Day Above Ground was reported as not expecting the backlash that came after the video was uploaded on Youtube. It has been taken down, and the group responds with the usual “we’re not racist-it’s satire-we have an Asian in our band” babble:

This song is us, Day Above Ground, making fun of ourselves (and many, many other guys) obsession with the always lovely, Asian Woman. It pushes this concept to an absurd level, but at the same time is endearing & submissive.. WE ARE NOT RACIST, HAHA! I mean, look at our band, it’s multicultural!! The guy in the bow-tie, our cutie bass player, was born in Indonesia, and he steals the show!! Please don’t take this tongue-in-cheek tribute to some of the most gorgeous women on the planet too seriously!! You’ll ruin the fun of it all!! Thanks for watching, sincerely!!

Oh sure. As always, we who have the nerve to call out this song and group on their misogyny and racism are the ones who are the killjoys because white men just wanna have fun. Their white male privileges are literally crying to be left alone.

This is not satire, because it’s not funny. It’s not even entertaining, let alone music. It’s like this video was produced and directed by Seth Macfarlene, only it doesn’t have fart sounds and gay jokes. Some have declared ‘Asian Girlz’ the most racist song of the year, possibly of all time. With mainstream and social media looking for more lows to sink mining for the most putrid of so-called entertainment, it will likely get worse if white male privilege isn’t checked immediately.

Please check out this excellent response to the video by Kristina Wong doing a send-up of Levy Tran, the model in the video who defended the band: