Tags

, , ,

So, here’s the deal. A friend of mine has finished a graphic novel. He told me it will be an introductory book to a series of books he plans to work on. I checked out his book, and it looks promising. He told me that a local art teacher said that it was “exceptional”. In fact he thought it was so good, he contacted someone who works for Marvel to check it out. That was a few months ago. And my friend told me that there’s still no sign of him. 

Regardless of me saying so, my friend is disappointed that this guy is a no-show for reasons unknown. He told me he did some research on which way to go, but he is still undecided. However, he is looking towards either self-publishing or publishing the series online. 

My friend told me that he didn’t want any of the comic book giants to get their hands on it, and that it’s likely they won’t accept it anyway because of its originality and the fear that it may be based on another idea. Besides, he prefers it to be an independent/grassroots series.

The series will feature many characters from many different backgrounds. The main character is a young black male who fits outside most mainstream images of black men. There will also be people of different races, classes and religious faiths. I can’t go into too much detail about what this series is about, but it sounds like a story that needs to be told, and that is the main reason why it won’t make him money, or so he says.

My friend told me that he’s not interesting in getting rich so much as he wants his world to see his creation. He knows that he won’t live off of it. He believes no one will risk paying for something they may or may not be as good as they hoped. I hate to admit it, but he may be right. Unless, the characters are familiar or popular, a budding comic book creator and author may not want to get his/her hopes up of being a millionaire in a short time. 

So, what is my friend to do with his creation? Do you have any suggestions? Please comment below. 

