Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Nancy Giles is an African American female actress and  an opinion writer for CBS News Sunday Morning. Before coming to CBS, She has appeared in a variety of shows such as China Beach, Delta, The Jury, LA Law, Spin City, Law & Order, Dream On, The Fresh Prince of Bel Air and has appeared in the Broadway musical Mayor. 

Giles was born on July 17, 1960 in New York City and was a graduate of Oberlin College in Ohio. Before her raise to media fame, she was a comedian in Chicago: 

“I’m a black female version of what Andy Rooney was … It’s my world view and I’m honored … I’m the only African-American female doing opinion on network television.”

During a conversation with MSNBC’s commentator Melissa Harris-Parry, Parry mentioned how the demise of the white man is vastly overrated. Giles jokingly responded, “Maybe that’s why they’re trying to eliminate all these abortions and stuff. They’re trying to build up the race.” Needless to say, people demanded that CBS fire her for being a “racist”. Giles had to explain that it was just a joke. 

Giles’ message to the youth is, “Be open to change. Be flexible,” she said. “I didn’t know ’til I started doing this that this is what I wanted to do. But I knew it when I got there.”

