Tags

, , , , , , ,

http://d24w6bsrhbeh9d.cloudfront.net/photo/4457881_700b.jpg

Be honest. Tell me if the following is illogical and immoral: White people have problems when it comes to people of color (POC).

The reason why I’m talking about this is that I’ve been in a cyclone of an argument with a commenter on another blog about this statement. He told me, in so many words, that my statement is illogical and immoral. He basically makes this claim that it is not rooted in logic and was similar to a racist statement against POC such as “Most black men are prone to crime or deviance” or “Most Latinos in this country are illegal and are ‘stealing’ jobs away from ‘real’ Americans.” The one who wanted to kill my comment and secretly want me to give in and tell him he’s right was a white man supposedly from outside the U.S.

To make a long story short, I, for reasons unknown, took it upon myself to tell him how I could care less. I provided examples to back up my claim. I used white privilege to help support my sentiment. I even tried to tell him that racism is illogical. Still, no matter what, I am wrong. I was the illogical one. And he knows more about logic than I do. After all, he used math to support his argument. So, that must mean he’s right. Right?

*Rubs temples and takes a deep sigh!*

I’ve admitted over and over again that I am no expert in a lot of things I talk about in race-based forums and blog threads. However, I do know that I am a black man in America, a racist white supremacist nation who’s legacy includes the hatred and devaluing of black life up to this moment as you read this. As of right now (at least) one more black youth have been the target of white paranoia. Another racist video against blacks has surfaced. Many white conservatives have lost their minds after President Obama’s re-election to the point where they want to secede from the Union or wish for the President’s death, whichever comes first. And the list goes on and on. So, again, how am I wrong?

The reason for my comment comes from what I see everyday, all the time. They come from my own personal experiences including observing the trolls that appear sporadically in anti-racism sites. They come from the articles I read from other bloggers. They come from the books I’ve read. And they come from the experiences of other POC. Whether or not it is “logical” or not should not be an issue to drag on just to prove a hollow point.

Like I said in a previous post, “I see the world through a different lens as (white people), and my view isn’t always bright and sunny. Most of the time, it’s more clearer than their vision because I’ve experienced things they can not and – for some – will not understand.” So, this leads me to conclude that this back-and-forth about my statement having a lack of logic is an illogical attempt to shut me up for the sake of reciprocating shame and guilt through baseless, empty criticism.

They way I see and interpret the world through my personal perspective should not make it less significant. Even if what I said was illogical, that doesn’t mean it’s not important to contemplate especially if there are tons of evidence to bolster it.

And this thing about it being immoral doesn’t make sense. You see, according to the commenter, again, I have made a generalization about the white race, and that is just wrong. Like I said, he believes it is just as bad if he were to generalize black people as lazy criminals. In other words what I said was racist.

This same commenter is vehemently enforcing his sense of superior virtue and intelligence on me without realizing that he has appeared as a hypocrite as his sermons have not once been directed at the actual people who have indeed left racist comments. He also has not even considered that the racist mindset in the hands of the power can have disastrous outcomes for POC. And don’t think you can have the last word if you explain that statements such as mine about white people and their racism was not created out of thin air. History and political, economic and social machinations have played outstanding roles for the varying mindsets of today’s POC in this nation. So, shouldn’t it be logical that POC are the way they are because of those instruments?

So, let me ask again. Is the following illogical and immoral: White people have problems when it comes to POC. You check out the beef here.

