Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

by Lavern Merriweather

The other day on YouTube, I got into a lengthy debate with another commenter about a Sarah Silverman video where she is making a ‘joke’ about Martin Luther King. I put that word in quotes because I felt there was nothing funny about what she said, not because I don’t think she’s funny but because I feel that there is something hidden under the surface with these so-called types of jokes and the comedians they are coming from.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not some prude who flinches at inappropriate humor. In fact I can and do laugh at any really good comedian who knows how to tell an off-color joke without being offensive. But comedians like that seem to be from a bygone era. Today we have people like Silverman, Lisa Lampanelli, and Carlos Mencia and their many imitators. Most of who enjoy a following for being snide smug little racists who thumb their nose at the establishment all in the name of being politically incorrect. Yet, it always seems more like they are trying to disguise their real feelings and calling it humor. I think any day now we will see one of these people driving around with a bumper sticker that says “humor not hatred”. You know the ones I’m talking about.

Sometimes I wonder who exactly are people like that trying to kid because it certainly ain’t me. It’s like that old saying, “You can fool some of the people all the time, and all the people some of the time.” But, there is only so long you can hide behind your racism disguised as humor while I’m around. It’s just like director Quentin Tarantino trying to pass off his sickeningly glaring racism as ‘art’. I refused to buy it from him and I absolutely refuse to buy it from you. There was a wonderful quote I read on the internet by a man named Juan who said “Be careful with jokes, they are the best shelter for prejudices.” Couldn’t have said it better myself.

The worst part however is that those not on the receiving end will always try to convince you that certain comedians are just being satirical, that they are trying to turn racism on its ear. Okay, but then, why are they so f**king selective in who they target, and why do they only say those jokes in the safest space possible? I can tell you right now it’s not because those are the only people who ‘get it’. No, its’ because that’s the audience they are catering to. Comedian or not, these people know what they are doing, and that’s what makes their behavior so dangerous.

That’s also why it really gets me when their apologists say, “Oh, you can’t take what they say seriously.” Yet, they still keep saying it. So, it has to be coming from somewhere in their thought process. Another thing that gets me is the apologists themselves. I can’t tell you how many times white people will whine, “Hey, they are comedians!” as if that makes them some endangered species incapable of ever being questioned or criticized. So what?

Being a comedian means that you are under the ever watchful protection of Aslan the lion from Narnia and any negative energy you expel on them will get your head bitten off in 20 seconds? Oh, spare me! I don’t give two craps that they are comedians. They are still humans, and the maliciousness they inflict on others is still a concern. If anything, those apologists should be the first ones to defend my freedom of speech since that is exactly what they blanket themselves under.

Being a comedian shouldn’t absolve you of being a racist a**hole any more than any other occupation should. Even sadder is when the apologists have the utter gall to compare this collection of fools to the greats like George Carlin, Lenny Bruce, Dick Gregory, and the exceptional Richard Pryor. It makes me want to sniff their breath like that guy did to Jimmy Stewart in “It’s A Wonderful Life”, because they have to be straight up drunk to say some s**t like that! That’s like comparing a brand new showroom floor Mercedes to your Grandpa’s 30 year old rusty, crappy Buick that has been sitting in the driveway for the past 15 years wasting away.

It’s like comparing a lumpy piece of coal to a diamond. The apologists, besides obviously being sloshed to the gills, seem to be forgetting that those men had an abundance of talent, something that the ‘hip and edgy’ crowd can only hope to acquire someday. You love to brag so much that you aren’t politically correct. Well, guess what? You ain’t FUNNY either! In fact you are so far from funny, you’d need ten taxis to get there. Being a fool doesn’t equal being funny. Stop priding yourself on how politically incorrect you are and try being funny instead.

