Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

*gasp*…can’t breathe…*dead*

I love campaign season.  Don’t you?

Aurora Theater Shooting: Family Saved by a Black Youth

“At the end of the aisle, I ran into a woman. She yelled, ‘My kids!’ and I saw she had two young kids with her,” he told ABC News. “I made sure they got in the aisle and pushed behind her to make sure she got out of there.”

That’s when Brooks said he felt a shot to his leg. Brooks said he was shot in the thigh, and fell to the ground.

An AIDS 2012 Takeway: More Poor, Criminalized and Marginalized Folks Belong at the Table

Perhaps I’m biased here, but of the thousands of words I’ve read about this year’s International AIDS Conference in D.C., I found my colleague Jamilah King’s the most profound. She went down to this massive, biannual meeting of top researchers, politicians, activists, advocates and people living with HIV/AIDS to learn whyblack men who have sex with men and heterosexual black women—the two U.S. groups at highest risk of HIV infection“take the risks we do in bed.”

Meet the First Asian American Gold Medalist, 91 Year-Old Sammy Lee

The last time the Olympics were in London in 1948 was also the first time an Asian American won a gold medal in the Games. That distinction belongs to 91 year-old Dr. Samuel “Sammy” Lee, who was born in Fresno, CA and is of Korean descent.

Princeton’s Luke Powery Named First Black Dean of Duke Chapel

Powery, who will start his new position Sept. 1, has taught at Princeton Theological Seminary since 2006
